top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJodi Madsen

Hah, "Making Time to Write."

Let us take a moment and laugh at that first (of two) blog entry last year where I promised myself to make blogging a priority. Along with that I also promised to manage time better, make better meals for my family, dive more into sewing, do more fishing, take better care of my body, shoot my bow more, actually leave my home and socialize, expand my horizons, go on more adventures, and be a better wife. Looking at that written, I have actually carried out nearly everyone of them. Sometimes you don't realize how much you have actually done until its staring right back at you. My goodness, this life is flying by! Still working on that time management and prioritizing a little time for me to turn off the ole brain hole and relax. That probably has something to do with life with two toddlers flying so quickly!


What hasn't happened in the past year! Holy cats, yall. I'm not sure I can recount them! We made so many trips down to South Dakota for family functions, camping trips, hunting season, and just to visit because Nate's schedule at times left us with two weeks by ourselves and we got bored! Love that midwest mentality, seven hours on the road? Sounds like a good time to start a book or sing at the top of my lungs to my boys who can't escape my terrible execution! We shot some huge deer, caught some pretty fantastic walleyes, laughed more than ever, tried some killer recipes, bought an ice house that is the perfect camper for our summer adventures, bought me a new GMC pickup, BOUGHT A FLIPPIN HOUSE! I nearly forgot about that! In May we decided to move off Minot AFB and get somewhere that feels like us a little more.


Lansford, North Dakota. Population 200. Thirty-three miles from the Canadian border. Our new home. I love it. We have been renovating our basement that started as an open, bare, sad space. In our time here, we have demolished a bathroom and office, installed an egress window, framed a bedroom and closet, put up a new bathroom, powder room, and laundry room, moved in a pellet stove, built the kids a play structure outside, sheeted the garage and installed a heater, and took about seven million sheets of drywall down the stairs. Nate's job may have us move in two years, so going into this endeavor we knew that it was going to be a stepping stone flipper. The more time spent working on these old bones makes it hard for me to imagine leaving it, as well as that sunset thumbnail shot from my kitchen the other day. Such is military life.


The kids are growing and growing and growing! Allen will be 3 in 6 days! Tommy is nearly a year and a half, and it is all so mind blowing! They have accompanied us on so many adventures and have a great fondness of the outdoors. Their most recent infatuation is ice fishing, and I am pretty glad for that! Let's me get out on the ice! Not something we would be able to do without the ice house though, glad I talked Nate into that one, hah.


I was recently chosen to be a brand ambassador for Off Road Vixens! I am so stinking excited to have something to promote and push me to write about! ORV is a women's apparel retailer that caters to girls who get dirty, and that is right up my alley. Kind of makes me want to bust out the old dirtbike, I just may do that. I am so excited to be apart of their community.(...and to have a reason to buy more of their stuff.) I have so many great hunting stories from last Fall that I can't wait to tell you about!


I took a step back from the salon with the COVID-19 outbreak. My hands still get a little shaky when I think about how long it has been since I've stepped foot in a shop. Luckily my family lets me give them a little hair love when I go back home to give me a little fix. In lieu of making pretty hair, I started customizing tumblers! Give them a little look-see on my Facebook Group, PCS by jm. That's about all I can muster from memory, and that my little dudes will allow for now. Very happy to be back and active, maybe this time I'll stick with it. I've got a few drafts that show promise. 😉


Until next time,


XOJO


34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Cervical Cancer Chronicles: 06/08

It’s June?! When the… What the…. Is it June in your reality too? It just can’t be, can it? Well, I will spend the rest of the week digesting this nonsense, let’s get you updated! I am going to be quic

Outskirts of the Cancerverse: 03/30

I am in a wonderful place, right now. I am sitting at our dining room table, coffee at my side, and being offered a delectable football/sandwich hybrid by my Playdoh master, Allen. He is currently try

The Cervical Cancer Chronicles: 03/02

A whole month of crazy has passed since my last update, and though so much has happened it feels like it was about three days ago. We made a treatment trip for infusion on February 8th and just got ho

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page