top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJodi Madsen

The Cervical Cancer Chronicles: 02/01

Immunotherapy. The vaccine on steroids got me off my steroids and chemo. Well… Not really, but the connection was too fun to pass up writing. I have been on this treatment path for six weeks now, and it is like I’m not having a cancer treating drug infusion at all. Aside from the tri-weekly 1400 mile round trip for a check-up with Gyn Oncology and a thirty minute drip, our lives are back to a more manageable “normal.”


My blood was having a terrible time recovering from the chemo cocktail I had received after the fifth infusion in November and seeing great progress shrinking the growths in my neck and pelvis. Both my radiology and gynecology oncologists attributed the laggy blood to the amount of treatment I had received in the year, both chemo and radiation. My bone marrow was pretty sad and couldn’t keep up rebuilding my white blood cells and platelets as quickly as the chemo was taking them out. Recurring thoughts had me blaming myself for hunting too hard with little rest after the last infusion, but it was the rut! You can’t expect me to be that close to my hunting units and stay out of the trees. Getting out there was incredible for my soul and mental health, so the guilt anxiety was telling me to feel was short lived. After rechecking my blood and skipping chemo for three week (ending up equaling about 8 weeks with no cancer treatment) we were able to get back to Omaha for a change of treatment.


Immunotherapy is a biotherapy that use materials from living organisms to fight disease. They can educate and boost the immune system to attack cancer cells and provide the body with additional components to enhance immune response. So, a super vaccine? Sure. I’m guessing you have seen or heard infomercials about Keytruda. That is my new magic poison for my foreseeable future. It has been approved for use in certain cervical cancer cases for the past two years and I was happy to find I am qualified to receive it. I have not seen or experienced any new or worsening symptoms. I am not nearly as fatigued as I was during chemo, and that in itself is such a blessing! My headaches are still present, but I am able to at least take my mind off them with the help of cannabis. What I hope are not, but likely are, long term side effects of radiation are popping up making it hard to decipher what is normal wear and tear or a new worrisome problem. My bowel, rectum, and/or lower GI tract are exhibiting signs of scarring or damage with the presence of blood. It has become disturbingly normal. I experience constipation as well as urgency that switch on and off with no warning leading me to be scared of flatulence once again. The term “its all shit’s and giggle’s until someone giggles and shits” rings loudly in my ears right now and I hope it brings you giggles without the shits. Crazily enough, marijuana has helped so much in my stomach and lower problems. It eases constipation and makes everything run more smoothly and less painful, an unanticipated but highly appreciated property.


I have an infusion on February 8th and on March 1st I have a CT scan to see the progress immunotherapy has made. My personal mission to clear my mental space and heal my soul has been going great! I can finally say that truthfully and believe it myself. Diving into what calls to my soul while practicing and believing what feels right despite the stigmas around energy work and the possible judgment I may face for it has upped the quality of my life tremendously.


Other than that, and fishing as much as we possibly can, our lives have not really changed. The boys still amaze me every day, and its still cold in North Dakota. We have been able to see much more of our Wisconsin family, as they have been taking turns to meet us in Omaha to hang out with the boys. For that we are all so grateful!


If you aren’t already, my Instagram @mama.is.healing has been more active as I widen my reach to educate women all over about cervical cancer and the importance of precancer screens. I just wrapped up my first Cervical Cancer Awareness Month acting on the planning and social media committee for Cervivor. I have met breathtaking women with so much heart and strength that I honestly can’t even grasp. I am so fortunate to have them come into my life! I was obviously very far from alone, but I was able to contribute to a little of the 600% increase in their engagement. The more I learn about social media and the insights the more I am absolutely baffled by that number! I am so proud of us all! I was the recipient of The Brittany Wagner Social Media Advocacy Award. I cry every time I think of it because her presence was infectious. I went through and read every one of her posts, as well as her Cervivor story and I am so stinking honored to be able to relate to her in this way. Check out the links, because she was a beautiful human that I am sad to have never been granted the chance to meet.


Until next time!


XOJO


91 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Cervical Cancer Chronicles: 06/08

It’s June?! When the… What the…. Is it June in your reality too? It just can’t be, can it? Well, I will spend the rest of the week digesting this nonsense, let’s get you updated! I am going to be quic

Outskirts of the Cancerverse: 03/30

I am in a wonderful place, right now. I am sitting at our dining room table, coffee at my side, and being offered a delectable football/sandwich hybrid by my Playdoh master, Allen. He is currently try

The Cervical Cancer Chronicles: 03/02

A whole month of crazy has passed since my last update, and though so much has happened it feels like it was about three days ago. We made a treatment trip for infusion on February 8th and just got ho

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page