top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJodi Madsen

The Cervical Cancer Chronicles: July 29

I feel like I have kept you in the dark long enough (also, my kids are asleep at the same time for the first time this century) and you deserve an update. I will keep it as layman as I can while providing you with enough information to answer any questions you may come up with. As I'm sure you can tell by now, my PET scan didn't show rainbows and butterflies. Results could have been MUCH worse, but I'm not able to say I am cancer-free just yet. The first set of scans I had in the beginning of February showed clusters of lymph nodes on both sides of my pelvis, some para aortic, and some iliac nodes that were cancer positive along with the 4cm tumor on my cervix. The tumor is gone, and no metabolic activity in that area. As far as lymph activity I went from looking like a NHRA staging light down to two areas of light noting activity. Light being the radioactive agent intravenously applied that shows up on the PET scan. From the little bit of knowledge I have of scans, it is very similar to a CT. Different dyes to show different things.


The two areas in my abdomen showing hot for metabolic activity, pelvic and iliac, were present in my previous scans but are shrinking. My Gyn Oncologist, a retired Naval doctor whom enjoys talking to Nate about everything military and hunting more than getting to the point of my cancer, told us whether they are to be worried about or not is highly debated currently. Many times, he says, when cervical cancer patients come in for three or four month scans right out of treatment they see nodes like this present. They could be nothing and may be dying off, just going slower than the others. They could also be active cancer. There are conflicting studies being done showing completely different results. Since they are smaller than my last set of scans, they will just be monitored closely at each of our visits to Nebraska Medicine. Which will be every three months for two years initially.


The scans also revealed a new cervical lymph node in my neck lit up showing metabolic activity. When I was in Nebraska for my initial treatment, both my Gyn Onc and Rad Onc physically checked the nodes in my neck stating it is common for cervical cancer to invade there next. Dr. Remmenga is who I saw for this appointment felt around my neck and noted a hard mass present, and it was quite tender when he pressed on it. Looking at my visit summaries, the one he felt was noted to possibly be too superficial to be the node lit in my scans. If it is in fact cancerous, the likelihood of nodes infected in close proximity are high. They may just be too small to show on a PET. I have an appointment here in Omaha to be put under light anesthesia for an ultrasound led biopsy via needle to the neck tomorrow morning. Nate will drop me off and try to contain the two very cranky boys that are fed up with not being home for the two to three hours I will be at the hospital. While he was examining my neck, Dr. Remmenga asked if I have had a cold or sinus infection lately, which could cause the metabolic activity shown on my scans. I did just get over a nasty cold and sinus back-up, so we're hoping that is all this may be.


Looking at my summaries only rise more questions, so until we have biopsies and answers for this fish in the fryer, the others will wait. As will my questions on hormones. If this node is indeed infected and cancerous I will be taking a cocktail of chemotherapy. Not exactly something I want to mix with the trial and error stage of HRT. I will be able to receive chemo in Minot. I would have no need for radiation as chemo is systemic and should be thorough enough to wipe out all residual cancerous nodes. The reason we came down here in March/April was both internal and external deliveries of radiation is not offered in the entire state of ND. Since they have the three different chemos I would need at the cancer center in Minot, my team will just tell them the volumes I need and the teams up north can shoot me up accordingly.


Until we have my biopsy back, we won't put horses in front of carriages. Trying to keep my thoughts positive. I catch myself planning for the worst thinking in any outcome, I will either be prepared or pleasantly surprised. Thank you guys so much for the love you flooded us with after my last entry. You will be updated accordingly when we find out my next steps. Sending our love to you and yours!


Until next time,


XOJO

463 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Cervical Cancer Chronicles: 06/08

It’s June?! When the… What the…. Is it June in your reality too? It just can’t be, can it? Well, I will spend the rest of the week digesting this nonsense, let’s get you updated! I am going to be quic

Outskirts of the Cancerverse: 03/30

I am in a wonderful place, right now. I am sitting at our dining room table, coffee at my side, and being offered a delectable football/sandwich hybrid by my Playdoh master, Allen. He is currently try

The Cervical Cancer Chronicles: 03/02

A whole month of crazy has passed since my last update, and though so much has happened it feels like it was about three days ago. We made a treatment trip for infusion on February 8th and just got ho

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page